ACT Pharmacy Student of the Year named

Aug , 2 2013

Reference :

Tessa Lane from the University of Canberra has been named the Australian Capital Territory’s 2013 Pharmacy Student of the Year.

Tessa recently completed her Master of Pharmacy degree and will commence her internship at the Royal Adelaide Hospital at the end of this year.

Tessa’s commitment to become a pharmacist is shown in her first completing a Bachelor of Applied Science in Biology at UC before moving across to study pharmacy.

Her ambitions were strongly supported by her colleagues at a pharmacy in Manuka, Canberra, where she continued to work as a pharmacy assistant while completing her studies.

ACT PSA Branch President, Associate Professor Greg Kyle, said Tessa had shown great determination to become a pharmacist and this was reflected in her outstanding performance through the course of her degree.

“Tessa displays the skills, knowledge and counselling empathy which are all so critical in our roles as pharmacists,” Associate Professor Kyle said.

“I have every confidence Tessa will shine for the ACT at the PSOTY finals to be held at PAC later this year.”

Associate Professor Kyle said the Pharmacy Student of the Year Award was initially launched  in 2004 and is a great learning experience for all of the participants, giving students an opportunity to demonstrate their skills and be judged on them.

Tessa will compete against finalists from other States and Territories, as well as a wildcard entrant, at PAC, being held in Brisbane from October 10-13.