Changes to Rural Pharmacy Support

8 November 2011

Eligibility for the suite of rural programs funded under the Fifth Community Pharmacy Agreement is about to change to ensure the programs continue to strengthen and support the rural pharmacy workforce.

Under the changes, only pharmacies located in PhARIA 2-6 will be eligible for the programs.Previously,some regional PhARIA 1 locations were deemed eligible.

PhARIA refers to the Pharmacy Access/Remoteness Index of Australia. PhARIA 1 locations are areas that are considered to have high access to community pharmacy services. Some PhARIA 1 locations were included in the rural programs because of historical workforce factors, including pharmacist shortages and lack of proximity to pharmacy schools.

For Full Content,please refer to:

Changes to Rural Pharmacy Support