Pharmacy Business Network 2014 a raging success

15 Sep, 2014


The Pharmacy Guild’s Pharmacy Business Network (PBN) 2014 held in Melbourne over the weekend has
been hailed a big success. It was the first year that the PBN event had come to Melbourne’s Crown
Conference centre after being hosted in Canberra for its first two years.
The Pharmacy Guild strongly believes that through its specific business-only content that PBN has become
the most important pharmacy business management conference event on the calendar.
PBN2014 Organising Committee chair and Victorian Branch President of the Pharmacy Guild of Australia,
Anthony Tassone was thrilled with the turnout of the event.
“We have exceeded our own expectations with over 250 delegates registering – a record for this event. I
have been inundated with feedback from delegates praising the focused, practical and interactive format.
Whilst the event has become bigger, it is still intimate and gives delegates unprecedented access to speakers,
facilitators and industry leaders at the event,” Mr Tassone said.
In a crowded and hectic conference schedule, Mr Tassone felt that PBN had found its niche.
“The PBN is all about and only about pharmacy management. There are no clinical sessions on the program,
and other conferences can help meet those particular learning needs. PBN brings together; pharmacy owners,
pharmacist managers, retail managers, pharmacy students and interns with bankers, accountants, suppliers in
an informal networking environment.”
The educational streams of the PBN2014 were ‘Manage your business’ and ‘Manage your people’ – with
extensive learning material to help develop and execute a business plan for their own pharmacy.
The importance of making a business plan, persistence and focusing on incremental improvement rather than
the ‘great idea’ ran throughout the conference program from profile speakers: Nigel Collin speaking of
everyday innovation; leading pharmacy accountant Peter Saccasan of RSM Bird Cameron; Australian
swimming legend Hayley Lewis; and previous QCPP Pharmacy of the Year winners Samantha Kourtis of
Charnwood Capital Chemist, Alex Page and Jason Harvey of C.P. People’s Outback Pharmacy and Jaymee
Cameron and Anthony Hanna from Priceline Pharmacy Springwood.

Stay tuned for details of the PBN2015 event, and recap the conversation of PBN2014 on twitter via
#PBN2014 or via the twitter feed at:
Media inquiries: Greg Turnbull: 0412 910 261