Queensland Awards for Excellence

Queensland Awards for Excellence

The Queensland Branch of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia’s annual dinner this week saw a number of awards presented to recognise excellence in the profession of pharmacy.

This year, the Graduate of the Year Award was renamed the Professor James Dare Graduate of the Year in commemoration of one of the founding fathers of the profession in Queensland and to recognise his contribution to the development of the first school of pharmacy in Queensland in this the centennial year of the UQ School of Pharmacy.

The inaugural recipient of the Professor James Dare Graduate of the Year was Joe Montieth from the University of Queensland.

The prestigious Bowl of Hygeia, which recognises an exceptional individual service to the profession and is awarded to a member of PSA who has demonstrated a consistently high standard of professional practice in support of the principles of pharmacy service to the community, was awarded to Dr Danielle Stowasser for leadership and innovation in the area of Quality Use of Medicines and Patient Safety.

The Intern of the Year award received nominations from across Queensland and NSW (the criteria being that they studied in Queensland).

The winner was Jessica Simpson from Narrabri in NSW, who was described as highly professional, thorough, practical and dedicated with leadership and maturity beyond her years.

For further details, please refer to Source.