Queensland Graduate of the Year named

Nov , 20  2013

Reference : 


Scholastic achievement and a commitment to advancing the practice of pharmacy in Australia have combined to see Griffith University’s Rebecca Curran being named the Professor James Dare PSA Pharmacy Graduate of the Year for 2013.

The award honours Emeritus Professor James Dare who was a member of the Council of the PSA Qld Branch for many years and was awarded of a Fellowship of the Society as well as a Fellowship of the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia.

Presenting the awards, PSA Queensland Branch President Professor Lisa Nissen said Rebecca was an excellent pharmacy student who excelled in her studies, research and represented the university internationally.

“She is committed to advancing the pharmacy profession in Australia, and as the recipient of a Prime Ministers Australia Asia Postgraduate Award is currently completing her honours research at the National Heart Centre in Singapore,” Professor Nissen said.

“Upon completion of her internship she is committed to undertaking higher degree research. Rebecca has been a very involved and respected pharmacy student.

“She was outgoing and friendly and contributed greatly to her cohort. She was highly regarded by her peers and academics within the School of Pharmacy.”

In nominating Ms Curran, Griffith University said she was an honest, respectful and ethical young person who was committed to practising pharmacy with a high degree of professionalism.

“She is also enrolled into an honours degree and eager to complete her doctoral degree in pharmacy. Rebecca is keen to pursue a future career in hospital pharmacy and to advance the practice of pharmacy through research. Rebecca is an excellent student who has been a fantastic ambassador for our school and the pharmacy profession,” the nomination read.

Professor Nissen said Ms Curran stood out among an outstanding field of nominees made up of Rebecca, QUT’s Manisha Singh, JCU’s Karen Campbell and UQ’s Braedon Damon.

“These are outstanding young pharmacists who represent the very best of our profession as we move forward,” Professor Nissen said.


MEDIA CONTACT: Michelle Rosenthal 0414181641